EFFIOSLAB

The EFFIOSLAB team

EFFIOSLAB is a team of engineers with a wide range of technical and functional skills and specialized in the management of digital projects in the education sector and the development of innovative tools and solutions to address the challenges of educational actors.

As consultants, we are constantly in contact with innovative digital services and develop tools to support our clients. We incubate and accelerate our digital services projects within the LAB.

Our expertise: data-driven management

Why?

To us, data is not an end in itself, but a precious key to spot good practices often drowned out by the mass and diversity of situations in the education sector. Public actors are designing tomorrow's educational policies in a complex digital environment. Data-based management is strategic in order to reach an audience that is both numerous and heterogeneous. It allows us to be more reactif, more precise, and more consensual.

Our vision

Our vision of data-based management is constructive and not punitive: the aim is not to single out bad practices, but to understand why something is not working in order to do better. This is particularly important as the education ecosystem is filled with partners and opportunities to support such an approach. Data alone is not enough - but by putting data into perspective, we can contribute to designing digital policies that truly serve students, teachers and schools. 

What's next?

  • Improving data quality by developing scripts that automatically identify inconsistencies.
  • Enrich the data by combining it with other sources.
  • Leverage the opportunities brought about by the rapid development of the mobile ecosystem to improve the management of educational policies

 

Case study: The Educational Resource Access Manager (ERAM)

The Educational Resource Access Manager (ERAM) is a project carried out by the French Ministry of Education that aims to connect students’ virtual learning environments (VLEs) to all educational publishers, within a simplified legal framework guaranteeing the protection of students’ and teachers’ personal data.

Throughout the project, data was essential to ensure the coherence of the different project components: budgets, teams, putting ERAM expenditure into perspective with overall expenditure in digital resources, business model, etc.

How can we use data to efficiently manage the deployment of the project and support the development of uses?

Our proposal:

Going much further than collecting and analyzing ERAM's internal statistics, we developed a well-rounded project management system to link the technical solution to the whole ecosystem surrounding it. 

1. Setting up a CRM

Protecting students' personal data requires bringing together a complex ecosystem of actors. This is why we developed a free "CRM" (Customer Relationship Management) tool to organize the ecosystem. This tool allows us to:

  • Define roles and responsibilities
  • Manage contracts
  • Manage the deployment of the ERAM
  • Carry out statistical monitoring

2. Creating dashboards adapted to each decision-maker

We mix internal and external data to generate relevant dashboards adapted to the needs of each decision-maker: deployment indicators, usage indicators, national ratios, anomalies detected, etc.

.

3. Data analysis to spot good practices

From the mass of data collected, we carry out in-depth analyses to highlight the gaps between territories, understand what works and what doesn't, identify good practices or success factors, and share them with the whole network using a professional social networking tool (Rocket.Chat).

4. Data enrichment

By combining internal data from the solution with data from other systems (National Audience Measurement System of VLEs, regional statistics, etc.), we continuously enrich our analysis and understanding of each context.

Our results

Interested in our expertise in data-driven management?
Contact us at: data@effios.fr

Piloter par la donnée

Pourquoi ?

Pour nous, la donnée n’est pas une fin en soi, mais une clé précieuse pour détecter des bonnes pratiques souvent noyées au milieu de la masse et la diversité de situations. Les acteurs publics imaginent et pilotent les politiques éducatives de demain dans un environnement numérique complexe. Pour toucher des publics nombreux et hétérogènes, le pilotage par la donnée est stratégique. Il permet d’être plus réactif, plus précis, et plus consensuel.  

Notre vision

Notre vision du pilotage par la donnée est constructive et non punitive : il ne s’agit pas de pointer du doigt ce qui ne va pas, mais comprendre pourquoi ça ne va pas dans l’optique de faire mieux. Cela est d’autant plus important que l’écosystème de l’éducation est riche en partenaires et en opportunités pour accompagner cette démarche. Les données seules ne suffisent pas – mais nous pouvons les remettre en perspective et les exploiter de manière à bâtir des politiques numériques réellement au service de la communauté et des établissements scolaires. 

Nos prochaines étapes

  • Améliorer la qualité des données en développant des scripts qui permettent d’identifier automatiquement les incohérences.
  • Enrichir les données en croisant avec d’autres sources.
  • Exploiter les opportunités offertes par le développement rapide de l’écosystème mobile pour améliorer le pilotage des politiques éducatives.

Cas d’étude : le Gestionnaire d’Accès aux Ressources (GAR)

L’enjeu du Gestionnaire d’Accès aux Ressources (GAR) est de connecter l’environnement numérique des élèves, porté par le public, à l’ensemble des éditeurs scolaires de manière simple et en préservant les données personnelles.

Tout au long du projet, la donnée a été essentielle pour assurer la cohérence de l’ensemble du projet : cohérence des budgets et des équipes, mise en perspective des dépenses GAR par rapport aux dépenses en ressources numériques, modèle économique, etc.


Comment piloter le déploiement du projet et le développement des usages par la donnée ?

Notre proposition :
Au-delà des statistiques internes au GAR, nous avons développé tout un système autour de l’administration du projet pour relier la solution technique à l’ensemble de l’écosystème.

1. Mise en place d’un CRM

Protéger les données des élèves suppose de réunir un écosystème complexe d’acteurs. C’est pourquoi nous avons mis en place un outil de CRM (Customer Relationship Management) libre (Dolibarr) pour structurer cet écosystème. Celui-ci permet de :

  • Organiser les rôles
  • Gérer les contrats
  • Piloter le déploiement
  • Assurer un suivi statistique

2. Création de tableaux de bords adaptés à chaque décideur

Nous mélangeons des données internes à la solution et des données externes pour pouvoir générer des tableaux de bord pertinents et adaptés aux besoins de chaque décideur : indicateurs de déploiement, indicateurs d’usage, ratios nationaux, anomalies détectées, etc.

3. Analyse des données pour détecter les bonnes pratiques

A partir de la masse de données collectées, nous réalisons des analyses poussées visant à mettre en évidence les écarts entre les territoires, comprendre ce qui fonctionne ou pas, identifier des bonnes pratiques ou facteurs de succès, et les partager à l’ensemble du réseau grâce à un outil de réseau social professionnel (Rocket.Chat).

4. Compléter les données

En les croisant avec des données issues d’autres dispositifs (Dispositif National de Mesure d’Audience des ENT, statistiques territoriales, etc.) afin d’enrichir au fil de l’eau les analyses et la compréhension de chaque contexte.

Nos résultats

Intéressés par notre expertise dans le pilotage par la donnée ?
Contactez nous : data@effios.fr